Virginia Association of Science Teachers

Executive Committee


President

Becky Schnekser

 

President-elect

Stephanie Harry

president.elect@vast.org


Vice President

Michael Pratte

vice.president@vast.org


Treasurer

  Matt Scott

treasurer@vast.org


Secretary

Robin Curtis

secretary@vast.org


 

Past-president

Russ Kohrs

past.president@vast.org






Regional Director Coordinator (non-voting)

Dr. Anne Mannarino

amannarino@regent.edu


Parliamentarian (non-voting)

Andy Jackson

asjackson1963@gmail.com


Executive Director (non-voting)

Susan Booth

executive.director@vast.org


Regional Directors (voting members)

Region I

Carla Kersten

ckersten@glnd.k12.va.us

Region II

Heather Overkamp

heather.overkamp@portsk12.com

Region III Margaret Greene
mggjmu73@gmail.com
Region IV

LoriAnn Pawlik

pawlikla@pwcs.edu

Region V

Dr. Robbie Higdon,

Dr. Angela Webb

higdonrl@jmu.edu

webbaw@jmu.edu

Region VI

Tom Fitzpatrick

tfitzpatrick@rcps.info

Region VII

Donna Rowlett,

June Rasmussen

donna.rowlett@scottschools.com

jrasmussen@bvps.org
Region VIII

Dr. Ben Campbell

campbellbk@longwood.edu

Standing Committees (voting members)

Advocacy

Eric Rhoades

rhoadesem@gmail.com

Awards/Grants

Sandy Pace

awards@vast.org
Biology Jill Collins

jill.collins@martinsville.k12.va.us

Chemistry Jen Sharp-Knott

sharpj@floyd.k12.va.us

Colleges/Universities Dr. Jenn Maeng

jlc7d@virginia.edu

Communications Dr. Denny Casey communications@vast.org
Earth Science Dave Matchen matchendl1966@gmail.com
Elementary Laurie Witt lwitt@martinsville.k12.va.us
Environmental Literacy Cindy Duncan CDuncan@cbf.org
Informal Learning Chuck English cenglish@smv.org
Membership Barbara Adcock membership@vast.org
Middle vacant
Nominations Russ Kohrs

past.president@vast.org

Outreach/Professional Concerns

vacant


Physics Tony Wayne twayne@k12albemarle.org
Policy vacant
Teacher Resources Michelle Plunkett

michelle.plunkett@lcps.org

Technology Paula Klonowski Leach paula@ittip.org

Appointments (voting members)

Journal Editors Dr. Amanda Gonzi,

Dr. Jennifer Maeng

journal@vast.org

Newsletter Editor Jean Foss

newsletter@vast.org

PDI Director Dr. John Kowalski pdi@vast.org
PDI Treasurer Cheryl Coronado registrar@vast.org
Virginia Math & Science Coalition Tom Fitzpatrick

tfitzpatrick@rcps.info

Web Administrator Dr. Denny Casey webmaster@vast.org

Invited Representatives (non-voting with voice)

National Science Teachers Association

Keri Meador

keri.meador@jefferson.kyschools.us

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching vacant


Pre-service Student Representative Kaitlyn Smith

smit39km@dukes.jmu.edu

Science Museum of Virginia Timshel Purdum tpurdum@smv.org
Virginia Children's Education Council/National Institute of Aerospace Joan Harper-Neely

joan.harper-neely@nianet.org

Virginia Department of Education Dr. Anne Petersen Anne.Petersen@doe.virginia.gov
Virginia Earth Science Teachers Association vacant
Virginia Instructors of Physics Drew Austen aqausten@gmail.com
Virginia Junior Academy of Science Dr. Julia Cothron cothron9293@comcast.net
Virginia Resource Use Education Council Russ Kohrs kohrsrh@gmail.com
Virginia Science Education Leadership Association Lani Patrick lpatrick@campbell.k12.va.us
 Virginia STEM Chuck English cenglish@smv.org

Non-board Appointments (non-voting, no voice)

National Congress On Science Education Delegate and Alternate

Michael Pratte, Russ Kohrs

past.president@vast.org

president@vast.org

Social Media

Andy Jackson,

Becky Schnekser,

Kathy Frame,

Dr. Denny Casey

communications@vast.org
Sterling Committee Chair Dr. Juanita Jo Matkins jjmatk@wm.edu

Board and Executive Committee Meetings

Board Meeting Dates

Location: virtual (10 am unless otherwise indicated)

Executive Committee Meetings

Location: virtual (7 pm)

2022

November 9, 2022

2023

January 28, 2023

May 20, 2023

September 9, 2023

November 15, 2023

2022

October 9, 2022

November 6, 2022

December 11, 2022 (Executive Director's evaluation)

2023

January 8, 2023

February 12, 2023

April 16, 2023

July 9, 2023

August 20, 2023

October 8, 2023

November 12, 2023


 

VAST Officers from 1952

History of VAST Officers


Virginia Association of Science Teachers

communications@vast.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software