Virginia Association of Science Teachers

Executive Committee

 

President

Michael Pratte

president@vast.org

 

President-elect

Russ Kohrs

rhkohrs@shenandoah.k12.va.us


Vice President

Shirley Sypolt

shirleysyp@aol.com


Treasurer

  Matt Scott

treasurer@vast.org


Secretary

Robin Curtis

secretary@vast.org


 

Past-president

Tom Fitzpatrick

tfitzpatrick@rcps.info





Regional Director Coordinator (non-voting)

Dr. Anne Mannarino

amannarino@regent.edu


Parliamentarian (non-voting)

Andy Jackson

ajackson@harrisonburg.k12.va.us


Executive Director (non-voting)

Susan Booth

executive.director@vast.org


Regional Directors (voting members)

Region I

Carolyn Elliott

region1@vast.org

Region II

Becky Schnekser

Rebeccaschnekser@capehenry.org
Region III Margaret Greene
mggjmu@gmail.com
Region IV Susan Bardenhagen region4@vast.org
Region V Robbie Higdon

higdonrl@jmu.edu

Region VI Jill Collins, 


Dr. Patricia Gaudreau

Jill.collins@pcs.k12.va.us

pgaudreau@mcps.org

Region VII Donna Rowlett donna.rowlett@scottschools.com
Region VIII

Dr. Ben Campbell

campbellbk@longwood.edu

Standing Committees (voting members)

Advocacy

tba


Awards/Grants

Sandy Pace

awards@vast.org
Biology Jessica White

whitejj2@mymail.vcu.edu

Chemistry Stephanie Harry

akjharry@gmail.com

Colleges/Universities Dr. Jenn Maeng

jlc7d@virginia.edu

Communications Dr. Denny Casey communications@vast.org
Earth Science Dave Matchen

matchd1966@gmail.com

Elementary Jaclyn Claytor jeclaytor@henrico.k12.va.us
Environmental Literacy Cindy Duncan CDuncan@cbf.org
Informal Learning Chuck English cenglish@smv.org
Membership Barbara Adcock membership@vast.org
Middle Janet Lundin lundinj@fccps.org
Nominations Tom Fitzpatrick

tfitzpatrick@rcps.info

Outreach/Professional Concerns tba


Physics Tony Wayne twayne@k12albemarle.org
Policy George Dewey george.dewey@fcps.edu
Teacher Resources Michelle Plunkett

michelle.plunkett@lcps.org

Technology Loriann Pawlik
pawlikla@pwcs.edu

Appointments (voting members)

Journal Editors Dr. Amanda Gonzi,

Dr. Jennifer Maeng

journal@vast.org

Newsletter Editor Jean Foss

newsletter@vast.org

PDI Director Dr. John Kowalski pdi@vast.org
PDI Treasurer Cheryl Coronado registrar@vast.org
Virginia Math & Science Coalition Dr. Jackie McDonnaugh past.president@vast.org
Web Administrator Dr. Denny Casey webmaster@vast.org

Invited Representatives (non-voting with voice)

National Science Teachers Association

Dr. Eric Pyle

pyleej@jmu.edu

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching tba


Pre-service Student Representative Emma Arents

erarents@email.wm.edu

Science Museum of Virginia Timshel Purdum tpurdum@smv.org
Virginia Children's Education Council/National Institute of Aerospace Joan Harper-Neely

joan.harper-neely@nianet.org

Virginia Department of Education Dr. Tina Manglicot, Dr. Anne Petersen Anne.Petersen@doe.virginia.gov
Virginia Earth Science Teachers Association Bonnie Keller vp.vesta.va@gmail.com
Virginia Instructors of Physics Drew Austen aqausten@gmail.com
Virginia Junior Academy of Science Dr. Julia Cothron cothron9293@comcast.net
Virginia Resource Use Education Council Shirley Sypoltshirleysyp@aol.com
Virginia Science Education Leadership Association Libbey Kitten libbey.kitten@powhatan.k12.va.us
 Virginia STEMChuck Englishcenglish@smv.org

Non-board Appointments (non-voting, no voice)

Marketing/Media CoordinatorKathy Framechuckframe@aol.com

National Congress On Science Education Delegate and Alternate

Tom Fitzpatrick,

Michael Pratte

president@vast.org 

Social Media

Becky Schnekser,

Kathy Frame,

Dr. Denny Casey

communications@vast.org
Sterling Committee ChairDr. Juanita Jo Matkinsjjmatk@wm.edu

Board and Executive Committee Meetings

Board Meeting Dates

Location: virtual (10 am unless otherwise indicated)

Executive Committee Meetings

Location: virtual (7 pm)

November 11, 2020

January 23, 2021

May 8, 2021

September 25, 2021

November 17, 2021, Madison

November 8, 2020

January 17, 2021

February 28, 2021

April 18, 2021

July 11, 2021

September 12, 2021

October 24, 2021

November 14, 2021

December 19, 2021 (Executive Director's evaluation)

 

VAST Officers from 1952

History of VAST Officers


Virginia Association of Science Teachers

communications@vast.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software