Virginia Association of Science Teachers

Executive Committee


President

Loriann Pawlik

president@vast.org

president@vast.org


 

President-Elect

Eric Rhoades

president.elect@vast.org


Vice President

Michael Pratte

vice.president@vast.org



Treasurer

  Dr. Paula Leach

treasurer@vast.org

Secretary

Janet Lundin

secretary@vast.org


 

Immediate Past President

Stephanie Harry

akjharry@gmail.com






Regional Director Coordinator (non-voting)

Tom Fitzpatrick

tfitzpatrick@rcps.info


Professional Learning and Content Chair Coordinator    (non-voting)

Dr. Eric Pyle

pyleej@jmu.edu

Parliamentarian (non-voting)

Andy Jackson

asjackson1963@gmail.com

Executive Director (non-voting)

Susan Booth

executive.director@vast.org

Regional Directors (voting members)

Region I

Amber Rhodes

region1@vast.org

Region II

Heather Overkamp

heather.overkamp@portsk12.com

Region III Margaret Greene
mggjmu73@gmail.com
Region IV

Marie Peaches,

Meghan Waymire

marie.peaches@acps.k12.va.us

waymirmd@pwcs.edu

Region V

Dr. Robbie Higdon

higdonrl@jmu.edu

Region VI

Angelo Bonilla,

Tom Fitzpatrick

abonilla@rcps.info

tfitzpatrick@rcps.info

Region VII

Jinx Rasmussen

jrasmussen@bvps.org

Region VIII

Dr. Ben Campbell

campbellbk@longwood.edu

Standing Committees (voting members)

Advocacy

Eric Rhoades

rhoadesem@gmail.com

Awards/Grants

Sandy Pace

awards@vast.org
Biology Katarina Childress kchildress@martinsville.k12.va.us
Chemistry Jen Sharp-Knott

sharpj@floyd.k12.va.us

Colleges/Universities Dr. Robbie Higdon

higdonrl@jmu.edu

Communications Dr. Denny Casey communications@vast.org
Diversity, Equity, Inclusionvacant 
Earth Science vacant
Elementary (K-2)vacant 
Elementary (3-5) Laurie Witt lwitt@martinsville.k12.va.us
Environmental Literacy vacant
Informal Learning vacant
Membership Barbara Adcock membership@vast.org
Middle Jill Collins jill.collins577@gmail.com
PDIJohn Kowalskipdi@vast.org
Physics Tony Wayne twayne@k12albemarle.org
Policy vacant
Technology vacant

Appointments (voting members)

Journal Editors Dr. Angela Webb,

Dr. Joi Merritt

journal@vast.org

Newsletter Editor Jean Foss

newsletter@vast.org

PDI Director Dr. John Kowalski pdi@vast.org
PDI Treasurer (non-voting with voice) Cheryl Coronado registrar@vast.org
Virginia Math & Science Coalition Tom Fitzpatrick

tfitzpatrick@rcps.info

Web Administrator Dr. Denny Casey webmaster@vast.org

Invited Representatives (non-voting with voice)

National Science Teachers Association

Keri Meador

keri.meador@jefferson.kyschools.us

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching vacant


Pre-service Student Representative vacant


Science Museum of Virginia Karen McKenzie kmckenzie@smv.org
Virginia Children's Education Council/National Institute of Aerospace Joan Harper-Neely

joan.harper-neely@nianet.org

Virginia Department of Education vacant
Virginia Earth Science Teachers Association vacant
Virginia Instructors of Physics Seth Berkeley sberkeley@harrisonburg.k12.va.us
Virginia Junior Academy of Science Robin Curtis associate.directorvjas@gmail.com
Virginia Resource Use Education Council Russ Kohrs kohrsrh@gmail.com
Virginia Science Education Leadership Association Lani Patrick lpatrick@campbell.k12.va.us
 Virginia STEM Dr. Anne Petersen
anne.petersen@doe.virginia.gov

Non-board Appointments (non-voting, no voice)

National Congress On Science Education Delegate and Alternate

Becky Schnekser,

Stephanie Harry

expeditionschnekser@gmail.com

president@vast.org

Social Media

Andy Jackson, Becky Schnekser, Kathy Frame, Dr. Denny Casey

communications@vast.org
Sterling Committee Chair Dr. Jenn Maeng, Dr. Elizabeth Edmondson jlc7d@virginia.edu
mailto:associate.directorvjas@gmail.com

Board and Executive Committee Meetings

2024 Board Meetings

10 am (unless otherwise indicated)

Location: tba

2024 Executive Committee Meetings

7 pm (unless otherwise indicated)

Location: tba

January 20

March 9

May 18

July 20

September 14

October 26

November 13

January 7

March 3

May 18, 9 am

July 14

September 8

October 6

December 8

 

VAST Officers from 1952

History of VAST Officers


Virginia Association of Science Teachers

communications@vast.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software