Virginia Association of Science Teachers

Executive Committee

 

President

Dr. Jackie McDonnough

president@vast.org

 

President-elect

Tom Fitzpatrick

president.elect@vast.org

 

Vice President

tba

Treasurer

  Matt Scott

treasurer@vast.org


Secretary

Robin Curtis

secretary@vast.org

 

Past-president

Shirley Sypolt

shirleysyp@aol.com


Executive Director

Susan Booth

executive.director@vast.org

Regional Directors

Region I

Carolyn Elliott

region1@vast.org

Region II

Dr. Anne Mannarino

region2@vast.org
Region III Michael Pratte, Dr. Dianne Clowes region3@vast.org
Region IV Susan Bardenhagen region4@vast.org
Region V Tammy Stone tstone@rockingham.k12.va.us
Region VI Dr. Patricia Gaudreau pgaudreau@mcps.org
Region VII Donna Rowlett region7@vast.org
Region VIII

Katherine Bowen

Ben Campbell

bowen.katherine@nottowayschools.org

campbellbk@longwood.edu

Standing Committees (voting members)

Advocacy

Dr. Juanita Jo Matkins

Diane Tomlinson

jjmatk@wm.edu

dtomlins@vt.edu

Awards/Grants

Sandy Pace

awards@vast.org
Biology Jessica White

whitejj2@mymail.vcu.edu

Chemistry Stephanie Harry

akjharry@gmail.com

Colleges/Universities Dr. Jenn Maeng

jlc7d@virginia.edu

Communications Dr. Denny Casey communications@vast.org
Earth Science Russ Kohrs kohrsrh@gmail.com
Elementary Jaclyn Claytor jeclaytor@henrico.k12.va.us
Environmental Literacy Cindy Duncan CDuncan@cbf.org
Informal Learning Chuck English cenglish@smv.org
Membership Barbara Adcock membership@vast.org
Middle Janet Lundin lundinj@fccps.org
Nominations Shirley Sypolt past.president@vast.org
Outreach/Professional Concerns Maria Caragiulo

maria_caragiulo@hotmail.com

Physics Tony Wayne physics@vast.org
Policy George Dewey george.dewey@fcps.edu
Teacher Resources  Mary Strother scijunke@aol.com
Technology Nick Swan nswan004@gmail.com

Appointments (voting members)

Journal Managing Editor Chris Pyle

journal@vast.org

Math/Science Coalition

Dr. Denny Casey

d.a.casey@comcast.net
Newsletter Editor Jean Foss newsletter@vast.org
PDI Director Dr. John Kowalski pdi@vast.org
PDI Treasurer Cheryl Coronado

kingnme2@msn.com

Web Administrator Dr. Denny Casey webmaster@vast.org

Appointments (non-voting with voice)

Parliamentarian Andy Jackson  parliamentarian@vast.org
Regional Director Coordinator Dr. Eric Pyle pyleej@jmu.edu

Invited Representatives (non-voting with voice)

National Science Teachers Association District VIII Director

Laura Casdorph

lcasdorph@gmail.com

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching Dianna McDowell

dianna.mcdowell@vbschools.com

Pre-service Student Representative Alex Shafer

shaferam@dukes.jmu.edu

Science Museum of Virginia Chuck English cenglish@smv.org
Virginia Children's Education Council/National Institute of Aerospace Joan Harper-Neely

joan.harper-neely@nianet.org

Virginia Department of Education Dr. Anne Petersen Anne.Petersen@doe.virginia.gov
Virginia Earth Science Teachers Association Margaret Greene  mggjmu73@gmail.com
Virginia Instructors of Physics Jeff Steele jeffsteele1@gmail.com
Virginia Junior Academy of Science Dr. Julia Cothron cothron9293@comcast.net
Virginia Resource Use Education Council Cindy Duncan cduncan@cbf.org
Virginia Science Education Leadership Association Libbey Kitten libbey.kitten@powhatan.k12.va.us

Non-board Appointments (non-voting, no voice)

Art Contest Judging CoordinatorSusan Bardenhagensmb4steam@gmail.com
Marketing/Media CoordinatorKathy Framechuckframe@aol.com
National Congress On Science Education - Delegate and Alternate

Dr. Jackie McDonnough

Tom Fitzpatrick

president@vast.org

president.elect@vast.org     

Social Media CoordinatorTim Kubinaktimothykubinak@spsk12.net
Sterling Committee ChairDr. Juanita Jo Matkinsjjmatk@wm.edu

 

Board Meetings

2018

Board Meetings, Location - Science Museum of Virginia

January 27

April 28

Retreat TBD

September 22

November 14

Executive Committee

January 21

March 4

April 22

June 3

July 22

September 9

October 21

November 11

VAST Officers from 1952 - present

History of VAST Officers


Virginia Association of Science Teachers

209 W 15th St, Richmond VA 23224

(757) 897-3104

communications@vast.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software