Virginia Association of Science Teachers

Executive Committee

 

President

Tom Fitzpatrick

president@vast.org

 

President-elect

Michael Pratte

president.elect@vast.org


Vice President

Shirley Sypolt

shirleysyp@aol.com


Treasurer

  Matt Scott

treasurer@vast.org


Secretary

Robin Curtis

secretary@vast.org


 

Past-president

Dr. Jackie McDonnough

past.president@vast.org



Regional Director Coordinator (non-voting)

Dr. Anne Mannarino

amannarino@regent.edu


Parliamentarian (non-voting)

Andy Jackson

parliamentarian@vast.org


Executive Director (non-voting)

Susan Booth

executive.director@vast.org


Regional Directors (voting members)

Region I

Carolyn Elliott

region1@vast.org

Region II

Becky Schnekser

Rebeccaschnekser@capehenry.org
Region III Dr. Dianne Clowesdclowes@spotsylvania.k12.va.us
Region IV Susan Bardenhagen region4@vast.org
Region V Tammy Stone tstone@rockingham.k12.va.us
Region VI Jill Collins, 


Dr. Patricia Gaudreau

Jill.collins@pcs.k12.va.us

pgaudreau@mcps.org

Region VII Donna Rowlett donna.rowlett@scottschools.com
Region VIII

Katherine Bowen,

Dr. Ben Campbell

bowen.katherine@nottowayschools.org

campbellbk@longwood.edu

Standing Committees (voting members)

Advocacy

Dr. Juanita Jo Matkins,

Dr. Diane Tomlinson

jjmatk@wm.edu

dtomlins@vt.edu

Awards/Grants

Sandy Pace

awards@vast.org
Biology Jessica White

whitejj2@mymail.vcu.edu

Chemistry Stephanie Harry

akjharry@gmail.com

Colleges/Universities Dr. Jenn Maeng

jlc7d@virginia.edu

Communications Dr. Denny Casey communications@vast.org
Earth Science Russ Kohrs kohrsrh@gmail.com
Elementary Jaclyn Claytor jeclaytor@henrico.k12.va.us
Environmental Literacy Cindy Duncan CDuncan@cbf.org
Informal Learning tba
Membership Barbara Adcock membership@vast.org
Middle Janet Lundin lundinj@fccps.org
Nominations Dr. Jackie McDonnaugh past.president@vast.org
Outreach/Professional Concerns Maria Caragiulo

maria_caragiulo@hotmail.com

Physics Tony Wayne twayne@k12albemarle.org
Policy George Dewey george.dewey@fcps.edu
Teacher Resources Mary Strother scijunke@aol.com
Technology Nick Swan nswan004@gmail.com

Appointments (voting members)

Journal Managing Editors Dr. Amanda Gonzi,

Dr. Jennifer Maeng

journal@vast.org

Newsletter Editor Jean Foss

newsletter@vast.org

PDI Director Dr. John Kowalski pdi@vast.org
PDI Treasurer Cheryl Coronado registrar@vast.org
Virginia Math & Science Coalition Dr. Jackie McDonnaugh past.president@vast.org
Web Administrator Dr. Denny Casey webmaster@vast.org

Invited Representatives (non-voting with voice)

National Science Teachers Association District VIII Director

Laura Casdorph

lcasdorph@gmail.com

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching Dianna McDowell

dianna.mcdowell@vbschools.com

Pre-service Student Representative Alex Shafer

shaferam@dukes.jmu.edu

Science Museum of Virginia Timshel Purdum tpurdum@smv.org
Virginia Children's Education Council/National Institute of Aerospace Joan Harper-Neely

joan.harper-neely@nianet.org

Virginia Department of Education Dr. Anne Petersen Anne.Petersen@doe.virginia.gov
Virginia Earth Science Teachers Association Margaret Greene  mggjmu73@gmail.com
Virginia Instructors of Physics Drew Austen aqausten@gmail.com
Virginia Junior Academy of Science Dr. Julia Cothron cothron9293@comcast.net
Virginia Resource Use Education Council Shirley Sypoltshirleysyp@aol.com
Virginia Science Education Leadership Association Libbey Kitten libbey.kitten@powhatan.k12.va.us
 Virginia STEM Chuck Englishcenglish@smv.org

Non-board Appointments (non-voting, no voice)

Art Contest Judging CoordinatorSusan Bardenhagenregion4@vast.org
Marketing/Media CoordinatorKathy Framechuckframe@aol.com

National Congress On Science Education Delegate and Alternate

Tom Fitzpatrick,

Michael Pratte

president@vast.org

president.elect@vast.org     

Social Media

Becky Schnekser,

Kathy Frame,

Dr. Denny Casey

communications@vast.org
Sterling Committee ChairDr. Juanita Jo Matkinsjjmatk@wm.edu

Board and Executive Committee Meetings

Board Meeting Dates

Location: Science Museum of Virginia (unless otherwise indicated)

Executive Committee Meetings (7 p.m. telemeeting)

November 13, 2019 (Hotel Roanoke, Roanoke)

January 11, 2020

May 16, 2020 (Hilton, Williamsburg)

September 19, 2020

November 11, 2020 (Hilton, Williamsburg)

October 27, 2019

November 10, 2019

January 5, 2020

May 10, 2020

September 13, 2020

November 8, 2020

 

VAST Officers from 1952 - present

History of VAST Officers


Virginia Association of Science Teachers

communications@vast.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software