Virginia Association of Science Teachers

Executive Committee


President

Stephanie Harry

president@vast.org


 

President-Elect

Loriann Pawlik

pawlikla@pwcs.edu


Vice President

Michael Pratte

vice.president@vast.org



Treasurer

  Jimmy Johnson

leafmold@aol.com


Secretary

Janet Lundin

secretary@vast.org


 

Immediate Past President

Becky Schnekser

expeditionschnekser@gmail.com






Regional Director Coordinator (non-voting)

Tom Fitzpatrick

tfitzpatrick@rcps.info


Professional Learning and Content Chair Coordinator    (non-voting)

Eric Pyle

pyleej@jmu.edu

Parliamentarian (non-voting)

Andy Jackson

asjackson1963@gmail.com

Executive Director (non-voting)

Susan Booth

executive.director@vast.org

Regional Directors (voting members)

Region I

vacant


Region II

Heather Overkamp

heather.overkamp@portsk12.com

Region III Margaret Greene
mggjmu73@gmail.com
Region IV

Marie Peaches,

Meghan Waymire

peaches@acps.k12.va.us

waymirmd@pwcs.edu

Region V

Dr. Robbie Higdon,

Dr. Angela Webb

higdonrl@jmu.edu

webbaw@jmu.edu

Region VI

Angela Bonilla,

Tom Fitzpatrick

abonilla@rcps.info

tfitzpatrick@rcps.info

Region VII

Donna Rowlett,

June Rasmussen

donna.rowlett@scottschools.com

jrasmussen@bvps.org
Region VIII

Dr. Ben Campbell

campbellbk@longwood.edu

Standing Committees (voting members)

Advocacy

Eric Rhoades

rhoadesem@gmail.com

Awards/Grants

Sandy Pace

awards@vast.org
Biology Jill Collins

jill.collins@martinsville.k12.va.us

Chemistry Jen Sharp-Knott

sharpj@floyd.k12.va.us

Colleges/Universities Dr. Robbie Higdon

higdonrl@jmu.edu

Communications Dr. Denny Casey communications@vast.org
Diversity, Equity, Inclusionvacant 
Earth Science Dave Matchen matchendl1966@gmail.com
Elementary (K-2)vacant 
Elementary (3-5) Laurie Witt lwitt@martinsville.k12.va.us
Environmental Literacy Cindy Duncan CDuncan@cbf.org
Informal Learning Chuck English cenglish@smv.org
Membership Barbara Adcock membership@vast.org
Middle vacant
PDIJohn Kowalskipdi@vast.org
Physics Tony Wayne twayne@k12albemarle.org
Policy vacant
Technology Paula Klonowski Leach paula@ittip.org

Appointments (voting members)

Journal Editors Dr. Angela Webb,

Dr. Joi Merritt

journal@vast.org

Newsletter Editor Jean Foss

newsletter@vast.org

PDI Director Dr. John Kowalski pdi@vast.org
PDI Treasurer Cheryl Coronado registrar@vast.org
Virginia Math & Science Coalition Tom Fitzpatrick

tfitzpatrick@rcps.info

Web Administrator Dr. Denny Casey webmaster@vast.org

Invited Representatives (non-voting with voice)

National Science Teachers Association

Keri Meador

keri.meador@jefferson.kyschools.us

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching vacant


Pre-service Student Representative vacant


Science Museum of Virginia Karen McKenzie kmckenzie@smv.org
Virginia Children's Education Council/National Institute of Aerospace Joan Harper-Neely

joan.harper-neely@nianet.org

Virginia Department of Education Dr. Anne Petersen Anne.Petersen@doe.virginia.gov
Virginia Earth Science Teachers Association vacant
Virginia Instructors of Physics Seth Berkeley sberkeley@harrisonburg.k12.va.us
Virginia Junior Academy of Science Dr. Julia Cothron cothron9293@comcast.net
Virginia Resource Use Education Council Russ Kohrs kohrsrh@gmail.com
Virginia Science Education Leadership Association Lani Patrick lpatrick@campbell.k12.va.us
 Virginia STEM Chuck English cenglish@smv.org

Non-board Appointments (non-voting, no voice)

National Congress On Science Education Delegate and Alternate

Becky Schnekser,

Stephanie Harry

expeditionschnekser@gmail.com

president@vast.org

Social Media

Andy Jackson, Becky Schnekser, Kathy Frame, Dr. Denny Casey

communications@vast.org
Sterling Committee Chair Dr. Jenn Maeng, Dr. Elizabeth Edmondson jlc7d@virginia.edu

Board and Executive Committee Meetings

Board Meeting Dates

Location: virtual unless otherwise indicated (10 am)

Executive Committee Meetings

Location: virtual (7 pm)


2023

January 28, 2023

May 20, 2023 hybrid: in person, SMV; virtual, link provided later

September 9, 2023

November 15, 2023


2023

January 8, 2023

February 12, 2023

April 16, 2023

July 9, 2023

August 20, 2023

October 8, 2023

November 12, 2023


 

VAST Officers from 1952

History of VAST Officers


Virginia Association of Science Teachers

communications@vast.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software